What’s a sustainable update schedule?

If something has come clear to me over this last month of doing daily updates, it is that posting a daily update is not something I can keep up in an ongoing basis. I have been able to do it so far in November only because I had just one blog post in 2015 before I started with NaBloPoMo and I was able to use ideas I had been mulling about over the last year but had never taken the time to write on the blog. It is becoming clear to me that the well is running dry now.

So that brings up the question of what is an update schedule that would work for me. My main fear is that if I don’t hold to a strict schedule I will very quickly go back to basically never posting. Do I want to just say I will post 3 times a week or do I want to be more specific and say I will post Monday/Wednesday/Friday?

I don’t expect anybody to know what the answer is since everybody is different and what works for one will not work for another. I just wanted to put down what I am thinking about at the moment now that November is coming to a close and the requirement of posting every day is ending.

I guess we will see soon what the decision is going to be πŸ™‚

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Blogroll, Improvement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s a sustainable update schedule?

  1. Paardje says:

    I am like that, if I don’t specify a schedule I run the risk of not posting at all. I’ve also noticed that some months (or weeks) are different from others in that sometimes I am in the mood to post more frequently. What has helped me stay regular is participating in blog events or challenges. I have 3 at the moment, which guarantees I blog at least 3 times a week. Helps a lot with keeping water in the well too! πŸ™‚

    • cthibodeau says:

      Thanks for your insight. I have been wondering about those blog events and challenges. The problem for me is that I don’t like being told what to do. 😯
      I guess I just need to find the right ones…

      • Paardje says:

        Aha! Yes, that can be a bummer πŸ˜‰ Well good luck anyway and, looking forward to more of your musings.

Leave a Reply

