Problem of my own making

I’ve always had a weak spot for sweets, chocolate to be more precise. And I’ve always said that my problem is not lack of willpower, it is lack of “won’t power”. As in “I won’t have a chocolate cookie tonight”. Unfortunately it usually turns out to be “Okay, I’ll have a second, I mean third, one”. The problem being that if I have one, I just can’t not have more. (Reminiscent of the “Bet you can’t have just one” commercial).

Let me explain why I titled this post the way I did. For example we needed a couple of cookies to give as a “thank you”so I went to Subway and bought a dozen. Of course a dozen because that was the best deal at 50 cents/cookie – buying 3 would have cost $1.90 or more than 63 cents/cookie! So now we have all these cookies at home that I just cannot resist.

Another example is bags of chips to go with the burgers we had for the Saturday night family dinner. I bought 2 bags since they were 2 bags for $4; we did not even eat a whole bag at the dinner. So over the course of the next few days I ate what was left of the first bag and all of the 2nd one. Is it any wonder I have been unable to keep to my daily caloric allotment these last few days/weeks?

I have to learn to either just buy what is necessary or make sure that the family takes leftovers with them.

Note to self: Stay away from the Nanaimo bars in the downstairs fridge! (Too late 😦 )

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment