A few beers I like

First things first: I am not a beer connoisseur. It’s only been in the last year or so that I have figured out that there are a lot of beer choices to be had out there. I didn’t think I liked “darker” beers and “lighter” beers were the ones I liked. And I thought that the bitter aftertaste of the beers I drank (IPAs mostly) were the “price to pay” for drinking beer. So I would drink wine most of the time. 🙂

I have to give my son credit here, he is the one that got me to try other beers. And once he got me started, I decided that I probably should try as many different beers as possible while I was at it.

So what I describe as the bitter aftertaste of the lighter beers is due to the fact that they use mostly hops to make them. So I like beer with less hops. I am not going to try and sound like I know things – because I don’t – so I am just going to list a few beers I like a lot.

Here goes (in no particular order):

Russell Cream Ale
Phillips Longboat Chocolate Porter
Rickard’s Red
Granville Island False Creek Raspberry Ale
Driftwood Fat Tug IPA

You are probably wondering why I have an India Pale Ale (IPA) in the list since I may have mentioned that I’m not fond of hoppy beers – and IPA are definitely hoppy. Now I haven’t tried all IPAs (because you know, IPA), but this one is very good. So far it is the only IPA I will actually volunteer to drink 🙂 Thanks go to Jesse for bringing this one here for me to try.

The list above is not exhaustive; I like other beers as well. But if they are available (i.e. in season – the Raspberry Ale is a summer beer) I will try and keep some of each of those in the downstairs (beer) fridge.

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

