Windows 10 – not for me?

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not because I don’t want to upgrade my Windows 7 laptop to Windows 10. It’s more because that particular laptop has a couple of features that are not supported by Windows 10, and the manufacturer is no longer supporting that laptop since it is of 2011 or so vintage.

I did install Windows 10 on it, a couple of times actually. And each time I reverted to Windows 7. The 2 features that I actually make use of and that do not have drivers for Windows 10 are the fingerprint reader and the dual graphics card.

I might be able to live without the fingerprint reader even though I use that feature to login and unlock the screen all of the time. The problem with the dual graphics card is more severe: I bought the laptop specifically to play World of Warcraft and WoW will just refuse to run whenever Windows 10 is installed. My memory is a little fuzzy as to what exactly happens since it has been a couple of months since my last attempt at the upgrade. But not being able to run the game I specifically bought the laptop for makes this upgrade a show stopper in my book.

I’ve been debating whether to try again now that Microsoft has just published an update to Windows 10, but I am kind of leery of trying since the problems I was having are not really Windows 10 related but rather driver related.

Oh well, enough complaining for one night πŸ™‚

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Games and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Windows 10 – not for me?

  1. Pingback: Potpourri post | Chris' Musings

Leave a Reply

