Allen Toussaint

Allen Toussaint died a couple of days ago, and I am very sorry to say that his death announcement was the first time I had heard of him. I sure had heard his songs tho’.

From the little bit I was able to glean so far, he was okay about that. I’m probably going to misquote him, but he said something to the effect that Hurricane Katrina forced him out of his comfort zone; he was perfectly happy to just sit in the studio and “wait for the red light” before then.

So, let’s let the music do the talking:

and

I listened to him on Spotify for a couple of hours today and really enjoyed it. His little ditty “I could eat crawfish everyday” reminded me of the first time I went to a seafood restaurant in Houma, LA when I first met my wife’s parents. I couldn’t find a video of it but you can listen to it on Spotify.

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

