Apple Music on Android

Since most of my devices, with the exception of my phone, are Apple devices I have been waiting for them to come out with the Android version of Apple music. The beta version of their Android app just came out today.

I have installed it and have been using it for the last few hours. Getting it started with my existing Apple ID took a little longer than I expected it would but it finally got all set up. Given that it is a “beta” release, it’s pretty pretty good. I haven’t had any problems streaming music while walking around town, and the sound quality is really good.

For what I need a music app to do, it does the job really well. The only thing that I miss that I can do with Spotify is keep going where I left off on another device. Okay, I’ve only done that once or twice, but since I am on vacation I would be using it – on the phone while walking on the treadmill, and then on the computer while sitting there.

Since I had been waiting for the Android version, I had not yet taken advantage of the 3 month trial for Apple Music. Which means that I have 3 months to give it a good tryout. It came out at the right time too, since my 3 month trial of Spotify is ending in a week and I would have had to decide whether to continue or not. Now I can just jump over from Spotify to Apple Music and continue with free music for the next 3 months.

And about the paying for music; I have Stingray music as part of my Shaw account (the 400 series channels) and they allow you to listen to music free on your mobile since you technically pay for it already as part of your cable package. It was going to be hard for me to continue with Spotify since I already pay for another music package anyway. I only used Stingray for a couple of days so far, so I don’t really have a good handle on what they offer. It didn’t look as diversified as either Spotify or Apple Music – but of course I haven’t really played with it so far.

Enough rambling for now. Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

