So why haven’t I?

Hey Chris, cryptic much?

Yeah well, sorry. Every once in awhile, I spend some time on Youtube looking at music videos. I see a lot of people doing covers of songs, and I have thought before that I should record myself.

So why haven’t I? Usually, whenever I find I song I like, I will find someone that has covered that song already and I think “They’ve done a much better job than I could have done”. Also, whenever I sing other people’s songs I like to keep it as close to the original as possible, since I liked how they performed it. So I think “Who would want to listen to me basically duplicating what the original artist has done?”. And then, there is the small fact that I like playing for myself; I don’t feel the need to play in front of or for an audience. Now it’s not because I’m afraid of playing in front of an audience – I have done so before both as a soloist and as part of a group and also a choir.

So I have many excuses to not do it – and that’s why I haven’t.

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

