Why do I feel like I failed?

Yesterday, I started taking blood pressure medication once again. I feel like I failed because the main reason for losing the weight was that my doctor(s) kept saying that I should lose weight and exercise. So after I lost the weight and kept with the walking I do everyday my blood pressure went down to normal levels and stayed there after repeated lessening of the amount of medication I was taking.

A few months ago, my doctor and I decided that I should stop taking the medication all together to see if I could keep my blood pressure in the normal range without taking anything for it. He gave me the limit that I should not exceed (135/85) and said that I should check my blood pressure regularly and if I went over those numbers I should start taking the medication again. So being me, I never bothered checking since I was keeping up with exercise and my weight was pretty much stable (see yesterday’s post for that story).

A few weeks ago I thought I should check my blood pressure and used one of those kiosks you see in pharmacies. I got a high result, but I just ignored it and basically convinced myself that that kiosk was obviously incorrect. I ended up going to a walk in clinic a week ago and they took my blood pressure – once again it was high. I began to be concerned. So I finally took out the blood pressure monitor we have at home and used it to check; it confirmed that my blood pressure is once again above normal (150/90 or so).

Hopefully getting back on the medication as of yesterday will return my blood pressure to a normal reading again.

And that’s why I feel like I failed – I think I was doing everything right and it still rose to unsafe levels. Guess I’ll be taking something to control my blood pressure until the day I die…

On the plus side, I guess living at this time in history more than likely means that I will live a lot longer than I would have lived in the past where my blood pressure would not have been under control.

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

