Checkin Fatigue

Did any of you get caught in the check in craze of a few years ago? I know I did. I was using Gowalla at the time and was checking in to every place I went, even the office. Unfortunately, Gowalla shut down and I had to move to the application that ended up “winning” the location war: Foursquare.

But over time, the urge to let everyone know my every move has dulled. It has gotten to the point that I rarely remember to check in to places. Either that or I will be going many places during the course of a day and I won’t remember to check in until I have been to half of them. Even the lure of becoming the mayor of the places I visit does little to convince me that I should check in.

I notice that Foursquare has started making changes to their application, now letting you explore places around you thereby giving you another incentive to use the application. Can’t say that it has worked for me.

So has the same thing happened to you? Do you find yourself no longer checking in to places?

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Checkin Fatigue

  1. nikki2987 says:

    Yeah, I really don’t do it very often. Mostly, I think it’s because I have a car now and in more of a “hurry”. Before, when I was taking the bus I felt a little bit more laid back. Like “This is going to be a long excursion anyway, might as well take a minute to check-in!”
    I don’t know… excuses, excuses.

Leave a Reply

