Monday Music – Édition Française

As I mentioned yesterday, I was born and raised in the province of Québec. So this week I thought I would let you listen to a couple of French songs, made popular almost 40 years apart.

Just before I left the province of Québec, this first song had just come out and was extremely popular. You could not go anywhere without hearing it. This song has remained over the years one of the standard Québec music. I give you “Le Picbois” by Beau Dommage.

And we now move forward over 30 years. I had never heard of this artist until I saw her perform Emmène Moi in the closing ceremonies of the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics. I had not kept up with Québec music since I had left to come to BC with the military so I was intrigued and bought some of her music. Marie-Mai is one of the most popular artists in French Canada and “Garde tes Larmes” is probably my favourite song of hers. I decided to go with a video where the lyrics are on the screen to make it easier to follow.

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

