How Safe Are Your Passwords?

I could have gone for some more alliteration – is there ever enough of it? – by using Saturday Security as my blog title, but this post is not about levity.

You might have read my post of a couple of days ago where someone fraudulently used one of my credit cards. I do not know how they got my number, but it made me think about security a little more seriously. What I found concerning the security of passwords really took me by surprise. Your password might not be as safe as you might think.

I am not an authority on computer security, so I will not expound about it here. I am just going to point you to a couple of articles that really made me think. You might want to set aside a block of time to read those articles, they are kind of lengthy.

BTW, I read an article a while ago that basically said that using password that are 8 characters or less – no matter what the characters are! – are not secure. Anybody with a PC with a couple of graphics cards can use software to brute force your password in a short time. So, even if you decide to not read those articles, you should at the very least make your passwords longer than 8 characters. Oh, and this is probably not secure either:

obtained from imgur

The first article, How Not To Become Mat Honan: A Short Primer on Online Security, offers a few suggestions on how to make yourself less vulnerable while online.

The second article, Kill the Password: Why a String of Characters can’t Protect us Anymore written by Mat Honan, is a longer article that has a lot of information as to how his online life/data was destroyed, some things you can do to make yourself less vulnerable, and finally how passwords are no longer – by themselves – enough to keep your information safe.

Happy reading and keep safe out there!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Improvement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Safe Are Your Passwords?

  1. Trish Thibodeau says:

    I want the short version pls. 😊

  2. nikki2987 says:

    Hahaha! I love that comic about the password being ‘incorrect’! Lol

Leave a Reply

