PVR – Boon or Burden?

Do most of you have a PVR (Personal Video Recorder), also known as a DVR (Digital Video Recorder)? We have one, and I have to say that I alternate between loving it and hating it.

Now the reason I love it is the obvious one: it will record shows for you so you are not beholden to the TV schedule. They even have a fancy name for it: Time shifting. A PVR will allow you to record a show (or shows) while you are away, or even while you are watching another show. Why do networks insist on pitting good shows against one another? I know, I know, rhetorical question…

And the reason I hate it is that you then have to find a time to watch all those shows you have recorded. So while the PVR frees you from having to be in front of the TV at set times, it does require you to be in front of that TV at some time to watch them. It usually works out for us that we will end up watching a week’s worth of shows in one sitting. So you end up trading having to be in front of the TV at set times during the week to having to be in front of the TV for a whole evening just so the PVR does not fill up and cause you to miss the shows you wanted to watch in the first place.

As far as I’m concerned, the good outweighs the bad, but there are times where I don’t see much of the good…

How about you? What are your feelings about PVRs?

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

