2009 Vancouver Island Karaoke Champion

For those of you who were wondering what was going on at karaoke Friday night, it was the first night of the 2010 Vancouver Island Karaoke Championships. For the next 9 weeks (I think) there are going to be qualification rounds at Soprano’s and the Upper Deck Sports Lounge. We normally sing at the Upper Deck so we were there for the first night of qualification.

Answers to possible FAQs: Yes I took part, and No I did not qualify (don’t really expect to but it’s an extra opportunity to go up and sing ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

You are being judged equally on Vocal ability, Performance, Costume, and Audience Response. Those of us who were there for the first time (well me anyway)ย were definitely surprised by the Costume part of the judging.

I found a YouTube video of the performance of last year’s winner. So here it is for your enjoyment (She hosts the Upper Deck karaoke nights, and the video does not do her voice justice).

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2009 Vancouver Island Karaoke Champion

  1. Nikki2987 says:

    I agree whole heartedly that the video does not do her voice justice!

Leave a Reply

