Expectations

First, I should warn you not to get too close as I have a cold. I guess it is a blessing in disguise that not too many people visit my blog/journal.

But seriously, how about those Winter Olympics? Have we finally realized that we had our expectations set a little too high maybe? Now I am not saying that our athletes were/are not capable of winning all the medals they were/are expected to win, it is just that a lot of things have to happen all at the same time for that to happen. You have to peak at the right time, and none of your close competitors have to have the performance of their lives. Not to belittle the title of Olympic champion, but all that really means is that you were the best in the world on that one day.

But when it does go right, what a feeling it is! Just like tonight’s performance by Virtue-Moir. The performance itself was magical, but the singing of our National Anthem by just about everyone in the crowd was just as stirring to me. We Canadians may be a quiet bunch normally, but on occasions like this one our pride comes to the surface. I am still moved by it just thinking about it.

Nothing much happening on the home front. We are assembling a shed and are currently building the base for it. The instructions are very adamant that the base should be level, and it turns out that where we are putting the shed is nowhere near as level as we had hoped it would be. So it is taking a lot more Pea Gravel to get the base finished.

Well enough for one go. I would not want to use up all my ideas in one place. I have to think about the next entry – whenever that will be…

Good Night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Moving, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

