Delay and Serendipity

I mentioned in my last entry that there were rumours floating around that the move to VITP could be delayed. It turns out that the rumours were partly true. Only some of the people originally scheduled to move to VITP actually went over this week with the rest moved back a week. I was one of those whose move was moved back a week. There was only one small problem: I am on vacation next Monday and Tuesday and would not have been able to pack then. So I ended up doing my packing on Friday. There is now a box sitting in my old office waiting for the movers to come next Tuesday to take it over to VITP and on Thursday (Wednesday is Canada Day) I will rejoin the others to unpack and get settled in our new offices.

Friday of last week my wife and I went to Camosun College for their Graduation ceremonies as our older daughter was graduating from her course of Dental Office Receptionist. After the ceremony, the couple that was seated ahead of us turned around and it was only then that I recognized an old friend from Navy days that was the Best Man at our wedding! It had been over 25 years since we had seen each other and it was quite a coincidence that they would also have a kid graduating. To add to the serendipity, who did I run into while at the grocery store a couple of days later but an other old Navy friend who was usher at our wedding! In his case, it had been over 15 years since I last saw him.

Our wedding was a small, spur of the moment affair and I asked one of my friends to be Best Man and my other friend said he would come as an usher. The wedding party consisted of my wife and her two best friends, and myself and my two best friends. So what are the odds that I would run into both of my wedding party members within days of each other after not having seen either of them for that many years? Pretty small, I would think.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

