Deadlines are further than at first thought

We got the news today that the date for us becoming EAS employees has been pushed back “for the last time”. The contract negotiations are apparently complete and all that is needed is approval from on high on both sides for the contract to be signed. Since the approvals have not all been gathered yet, it was deemed safest to move the move over date to the last Monday before the end of the fiscal year for the Government. So Monday March 30th is the date when we will cease to be government employees.

You have to feel for those people that had chosen back in November to take Early Retirement or Voluntary Departure. They thought at the time that they would be leaving government at the beginning of December and now it will be three months later before they can get on with their lives. To make matters worse in a sense, the economy is nowhere near as good as it was when those “irrevocable” decisions were made back in November. I have heard of some people saying that they may have decided to stay on had the economy been as bad as it is now when they made their decision.

I guess fortunately for me I decided to go to the new employer so there is not much for me to worry about besides where we will be working once new offices have been prepared for us. The first few months will be business as usual – same desk, same access, same computers – so there will not be any traumatic changes at the end of March. Just a new signature on my paycheck; and that will not really matter either since I have direct deposit 🙂

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

