The end? is near

That would be the end of my employment by the government of British Columbia. All the signs that I see are pointing to the cutting over to a new employer come February 16th. The decision is supposed to go in front of the Treasury Board by the end of January, and since tomorrow is the last work day in the month it is probably safe to assume that this has taken place or will be taking place shortly.

Our Acting Director has begun holding daily short meetings to answer any questions we might have about the cutover as well as propagate any news. The person in charge of the negotiation for government will be coming to speak with us next Tuesday about what we hope will be the go/no go decision. And even if nothing is revealed during that Tuesday short meeting, the whole of Hosting is having a meeting on Thursday where the main subject of discussion will be this outsourcing project. So by the end of next week we will know much more than we know now…

At the meeting I missed – which I wrote about in my last journal entry – one of the speakers mentioned that even if this deal falls through the outsourcing will be happening at some point in one form or another. And the reason for that – finally one that makes sense to me – is that government has decided information technology (IT) is not part of the core government business. 

I guess a lot of us had just hoped that since change in government usually takes place at glacial speed, we would all be retired before it happened. As it is, I really only missed it by a couple of years.

Oh well, the new company presented itself in a way that made me think of my previous employer – one where I really enjoyed working. Let’s hope that the presentation was a true representation. It certainly looked that way to me.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

