This is gonna take a while

On Wednesday of this week, we upgraded our last Unix master server to version 6 of NetBackup. The upgrade itself went very smoothly, but it took a really long time. When we upgraded the previous master server to that very same version, the last step of the upgrade (nbpushdata -modify_5x_hosts for those who must know) took a fair amount of time – which averaged out to about 8 minutes for every media server that was attached. So we took that into account when we planned this last upgrade.

Unfortunately for us, we forgot that this master server had been around for a while longer, which meant that the 8 minute average we saw during the previous upgrade turned out to be about 12 minutes for this server! And adding to that, the upgrade had to wait for the database cleanup to finish before we could proceed. And that ended up adding about 3 hours to the elapsed time for the upgrade! Not my idea of fun…

I took a half day’s vacation yesterday so that I could go to the Dr.’s office with my wife, and took advantage of the time off to get some things done I had been putting off for a couple of three months. So I went and got blood drawn and got my chest X-ray done. Next item on the procrastination list? Schedule an appointment with the Dr. to talk about the results of those tests…

I finally got to see – in the flesh so to speak – those newfangled netbooks that seem to be all the rage currently. I will confess right here that I think they’re very cute and I would love to have one. Too bad they don’t come anywhere near making it into the need column; this is totally a want thing.

I notice that the current lottery jackpot is up to something really substantial. Maybe I should put my retirement strategy into gear and go buy a ticket.

Cheers!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is gonna take a while

  1. Nice notes on the NBU upgrade. How many media servers did you have to upgrade? Did you do them all in that three hour window?

    • cthibodeau says:

      There are 27 SSO Windows media servers attached to the master server that was upgraded this last Wednesday. They are all still running 51MP6 and will be upgraded to v6 over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

