A Quiet Christmas Season

icesnow_logo2If you read my previous post you know we have been dealing with a lot of snow these last few days and it made for an interesting Christmas season.

The most telling sign was on Christmas eve. The whole family had planned to go to the 11pm service at EUC as has been our custom for quite a few years. So we piled up in the car minivan and started on our way. The day had been warmer than previous days and the snow had actually begun to melt. Unbeknownst to us, however, the temperature had dipped again below freezing and all that melted snow was now black ice. We slip-slided our way to almost the top of the hill in the driveway and decided that the risks outweighted the benefits of continuing on that particular journey. We then turned back and drove the 20 feet back to the house.

We got to start the “reveillon” early since we could not make it to church and the presents were handed out over the next hour. There were a lot of really cool gifts – I know that I really enjoyed the ones I got – and it looked like everyone else did as well.

Christmas Day started early for me as I had volunteered to do the turkey this year. That meant getting up at 6am to put the frozen turkey breast in the crockpot and set it to cook on low for the next 12 hours. Yes, instead of dealing with a whole “real” turkey, we repeated what my wife had done the year before where she found this recipe that made it so much easier to have turkey for a meal. Of course I just went back to bed after setting it up so my early day only lasted about 20 minutes.

The duties for Christmas dinner were divvied up between all the kids and ourselves which made it easier on everyone since noone had to prepare the whole meal. The meal itself was very good and a good time was had by all. We ended up with a lot of leftovers, and my wife and I have been slowly making our way through them since. Everything still tastes great every three days later!

My wife and I did venture out on Boxing Day as there were a couple of things we needed to get. The crowds were very large in the stores and it was difficult to find parking but there did not seem to be anybody stressing out, a fact that was corroborated by my son who was working in the Electronics department of Wal-Mart for Boxing Day.

Finally we did go to church yesterday after missing out the last couple of weeks due to snow. For those two weeks snow fell on Saturday night which meant that venturing out on the Sunday morning was not a safe proposition.

I guess that’s enough chronicling my life for now. 😉

Goodbye!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

