Life Goes On

I had not written anything here for the last few weeks as I did not want to appear like I was pushing aside the memory of my mother by replacing the entry about her with one about my day to day life. But, as the title so aptly points out, life goes on. I have put links to my mother’s obituary and tribute on the right so they are but a click away.

The events at work are gathering speed. As I may have mentioned before, the government has decided that a part of its IT services could be better delivered by the private sector. After about 18 months, the process is almost complete. The contract should be signed in the next few weeks and should take effect in early December.

I found out less than a month ago that my group was one of the ones being privatized. Which means that I have to make a decision by November 4th as to what to do: go work for the new employer, stay with the government taking my chance that a suitable job can be found – since my position is moving to the new employer regardless, or retire.

Actually the decision has pretty much been made for me already. Retiring is out of the question since my age plus my years of service comes short of the required total which means a reduced pension. Staying in government is out as well since the work I know how to do is being outsourced. All that to say that I will be working in the private sector for the first time in my life. I guess it is a good thing then that the new company sounds like a great place to work.

Goodnight!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

