Back home

My wife and I went to Joliette, Quebec to attend my mother’s funeral. It was a sad occasion to get together with my family, but it was nevertheless great to be able to spend time with them again.

My mother was cremated, and the viewing of the ashes took place just before the “Liturgy of the Word” – the funeral service proper. It was then that I got to meet, for the first time in over 20 years, many of my aunts, uncles, and cousins. Fortunately for me, my sister was next to me and fed me their names as they were approaching. I say fortunately because I would never have come up with their names for the majority of them. There were only a couple of uncles that I recognized.

One of my nephews read the eulogy, and he did a very good job. I will probably put it up once he sends us a copy. I will warn you that knowledge of French will be a great asset when I do.

You can read the obituary here.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

