Hello? Anybody here?

It has been so long since I wrote anything here that I doubt it.

After all the excitement of our vacation, life back home seemed quite ordinary and not worth commenting on. At least that is how I rationalize not posting for so long.

So why am I back? Well probably most likely because guilt overrode the “there is nothing interesting to write about” sentiment. I still think I have nothing interesting to say, but I here I am anyway.

It was EPDP time at the office. EPDP stands for Employee Professional (and/or Personal) Development Plan and we have been filling one of those out for the last three years. Management is quite serious about those, even to the point of having everyone attend a half-day lecture 3 years ago so we would know how to fill one of those out. So of course we changed the format this year. 🙂

Employees have been somewhat less convinced that management was serious about them. Really the only reason we suffer through writing those is that no training takes place unless you have asked for it in your EPDP. Otherwise, very little attention was paid to it. To lend credence to the perceived lack of seriousness, my previous manager never even read my EPDP. Although I must say that this may in fact change with our new manager.

All that to say that I finished writing mine and I am expecting to hear nothing about it until the mandated review period comes. We shall see.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

