True to form

Every time an engineer from the vendor of our new robot comes to make a hardware inspection, things go very badly. The engineer was here today to upgrade the firmware (software that the robot uses) and replace the repaired gear assembly with a new part.

Today was no different. The part replacement was supposed to be over by 1730. Well it is now 2330 as I write this entry and our backup environment is just getting started. I guess we should be happy that we are only 6 hours behind schedule! The last engineer visit resulted in the robot being unavailable for 24 hours!

The only thing I am thankful about is that I am not on call so I did not have to worry about any of the robot problems. I was just curious and decided to go check to see how well things went…

It was nice to be able to spend an evening at home without having to go to meetings or having to worry about stuff at work. The only thing that would have been better is if my wife had been feeling better. She has not been feeling well and has had to spend a lot of time in bed. She things it is some viral infection; she should know she is the nurse in the family! Here’s hoping she will be feeling better very soon.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

