Quiet change window

The change window today was a quiet one – at least for me anyway. My co-worker ended up with the messy part of the work; she was still trying to get things working when I left to go home tonight. My part was fairly small, all I had to do was shutdown the backup environment so that the IBM engineer could reboot the tape library that had given us grief last weekend. Not to fix the problem that plagued us over the weekend since that was fixed on Monday, but rather to get the web interface running again. It is possible to manage the robot over the web and that had gone missing since last Friday. That interface is particularly important for us as that is what we use to clean the tape drives when they start exhibiting errors.

My wife is on forced bed rest after her laser eye surgery. While that did not go as well as we had hoped, both eyes were eventually operated upon. When they did the first eye they found out that the flap they cut for the Lasik procedure was weak; it is apparently something that cannot be diagnosed ahead of time. So they decided against doing the other eye at the same time, wanting to make sure that the first eye would start healing before operating on the second. They also decided to proceed with an older procedure for the second eye. PRK does not require a flap be cut, instead they polish off that area and then do the laser procedure. That makes for a slower recovery, but the end results should be the same.

Good night!

About cthibodeau

I am a baby-boomer who is now in his second career after spending 10 years in the military. I now work in the computer field, which also happens to be one of my hobbies. I also like to sing, play the guitar to accompany my singing, and play the piano when I practice (which is pretty much never these days)
This entry was posted in Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

